Save thousands of dollars on your college education cost by enrolling at Moraine Valley. You'll get more for less at Moraine Valley. Our annual tuition compares favorably to popular Illinois college and universities.

Moraine Valley strives to keep tuition, fees, and textbooks affordable while also offering numerous scholarships. More than 60 scholarships are available for students, and students in the top 10 percent of their high school class may be eligible for free tuition!

Whether you are looking for information on tuition, making payments to your student account, detailed information on textbooks or want help with financial literacy, you will find it here.

If you are not sure where to start, you can speak with an Academic Advisor via chat, email or by phone.

Cost Comparison of a Single 3-credit-hour Course

$
Moraine Valley
$
Northern Illinois University
$
Illinois State University
$
Saint Xavier University
$
Lewis University

Note: These costs are for tuition and mandatory fees. In some cases, fees and other expenses are additional. Based on the most recently reported rates. Source: collegeboard.org

Tuition And Fees

Save thousands of dollars on your college tuition by enrolling at Moraine Valley. You’ll get more for less at Moraine Valley.

TUITION PER CREDIT HOUR

Summer 2019

  • In-District: $125
  • Out-of-District: $301
  • Out-of-State and International: $353

Fall 2019

  • In-District: $128
  • Out-of-District: $308
  • Out-of-State and International: $361

Fees

There is a $2 per credit hour college activities fee, $10 per credit hour technology fee, and $8 per credit hour construction/infrastructure fee. The application fee is a $25 one-time, non-refundable fee charged to all new applicants at the time of application. The student ID is $3 a semester. Some classes have a special lab and material fees. Those fees are published each semester in the class schedule.

Please Note: Tuition and fees are subject to change without notice.

Fees Breakdown

Fees
Application Fee$25
*Background Checkvariable
*Closed Account$50***
Diploma Replacement$15
*Finger Printingvariable
*Late Payment$50
*Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF)$30***
*Payment Plan$25
Placement Tests$25
*Student Practices$26
*Re-registration$25
Replacement ID$5
TEAS TestsVaries
**Transcript$7
*Non-refundable fees include ID, late payment, payment plan, re-registration, closed checking account, NSF, background, finger printing, TEAS testing, transcripts and application fee.
**Checks are not accepted for immediate transcripts at the window, but checks and money orders are accepted for mailed requests.
***Checks are not accepted for NSF or Closed Account fees

Tuition Information

Third Party Invoicing

Tuition and fee charges are the student’s financial responsibility. If you are requesting the college to invoice a third party with intent of covering the full balance or a portion of your charges, it is your responsibility to ensure that payment is applied to your account prior to your due date. The college will invoice third parties on your behalf as long as there is no grade or class attendance stipulations required by the third party. All required documents must be presented at the Cashier’s Office, S105. In the event your charges are left uncovered (sponsor does not pay as anticipated) all remaining balances become your responsibility.

Employment in the District

Persons who are not residents of District 524 but who are employed full-time (at least 35 hours per week) in the district are eligible for in-district tuition and fees. A student must submit two current consecutive paycheck stubs, along with a letter written on company stationery and signed by either the owner/manager or the director of human resources attesting to current full-time employment status. A new letter and paycheck stubs must be on file each semester in the Cashier’s office prior to the last day of the college’s refund period for each registered class in order to qualify for in-district tuition and fee rates. Independent contractors are not considered employees and they are not eligible for the work-in-district rate. Call (708) 974-5715 for information.

Tuition Appeals

The college acknowledges there may be extenuating circumstances that could have prevented a student from completing a course. There are essentially three extenuating circumstances when a student may submit a tuition appeal:

  • Medical condition. A student must include a signed statement from the attending physician on letterhead and medical billings confirming the reason(s) with dates why the student was unable to attend the class. Documentation on a prescription memo is not an acceptable form of documentation.
  • Family death. In the event of a death of an immediate family member, a student must submit a copy of the Death Certificate or obituary.
  • Active Military Duty. A student, who is called to active military duty, must submit official documentation.

The student must explain the circumstance(s) that prevented the successful completion of coursework and detail the specific steps taken to resolve the circumstance(s) presented. A student who has an extenuating circumstance has the right to submit a Tuition Appeal letter, to the Tuition Appeal Committee. The appeal letter must be signed, dated and submitted within 30 days after the coursework was not successfully completed. Late appeals will not be accepted. The appeal is a waiver process, it does not excuse existing balances or refund money. All decisions of the committee are final. Send the appeal letter and documentation to the Cashier’s Office, S105, Attention – Tuition Appeal.

Tuition Refunds

It is the student’s responsibility to drop a course by published deadlines. Courses dropped within the refund period will not appear on your record. No-shows do not constitute a drop. Course length determines the number of calendar days allowed to drop a class in order to receive 100% refund. Below are the general guidelines related to the availability of refunds:

Course Length 100% Refund Deadline

  • 16-17 week classes 8 calendar days after first day of class
  • 14-15 week classes 7 calendar days after first day of class
  • 12-13 week classes 6 calendar days after first day of class
  • 10-11 week classes 5 calendar days after first day of class
  • 9 week classes 4 calendar days after first day of class
  • 7-8 week classes 3 calendar days after first day of class
  • 5-6 week classes 2 calendar days after first day of class
  • 3-4 week classes 1 calendar day after first day of class
  • 2 week classes By end of first day of class
  • 1 week classes Must be dropped before first day of class

Students enrolled in a class canceled by the college will receive a full refund. Questions about refund deadlines for specific classes/sections can be directed to the Cashier’s Office. For more information, contact the Cashier’s Office at (708) 974-5715.

Refund Policy for Non-Credit/Vocational Skills (AEC) Courses—It is the student’s responsibility to drop a course three calendar days prior to the start date of the course to receive a full refund. Courses dropped less than three calendar days before or after the start of the course will not receive a refund. Please note, if registration for a class occurs within three days of the class starting, there is no refund. No shows do not constitute cancellation. No credit may be used toward another section for missed classes. Classes that are canceled by the college will be refunded in full.

Tuition and Fees for Non Credit/Vocational Skills (AEC) courses: Tuition and fees are assigned differently for each course and are listed in the course descriptions. Tuition and fees may change without notice. Courses designated with adult education credit (AEC) are supported by state and local funds. Tuition Refund Policy follows that of the Noncredit/Vocational Skills (AEC) courses. Courses that are designated Vocational Skill (AEC) courses are graded with a Pass/Fail and are placed on the student’s official college transcript.

Senior Citizen Tuition

Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons Property Tax Relief Act – Individuals 65 years or older by the first day of the term, and whose income is less than the threshold amount ‘defined in Section 4 of the “Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons Property Tax Relief Act’” will be entitled to a full tuition waiver for all regularly scheduled credit courses, excluding courses designed specifically for senior citizens, provided that available classroom space exists and tuition-paying students enrolled constitute the minimum number required for the course.

All other fees apply pursuant to the Act. Print a copy of the required application form for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons Property Tax Relief Act at MVConnect – under Cost and Aid, Tuition and Fees or at the Cashier’s Office, Room S105. Senior Citizens 62 or Older – and live in-district, you may enroll in credit or adult education (AEC) courses at one-half the tuition rate.
Class fees and student activity, technology, and construction/infrastructure fees are additional. Call (708) 974-5715 for information.

Gym Membership

FitRec membership is included for full-time students. Part-time students can become a FitRec member at a reduced cost of $48 per semester ($24 during the summer semester). See the FitRec Student Membership webpage for more information. Part-time students taking PEH activity classes must pay the per-semester access fee in person at Building H.

Fotolia_87102733_Subscription_Monthly_M

Payment Deadlines

Fall 2019

First payment is due at the time of registration
Second payment is due August 28, 2019
Third payment is due September 25, 2019
Fourth/final payment is due October 30, 2019.

If full payment is not received a $50 non-refundable late fee will be applied on October 31, 2019.

Payment Options

  • Full payment or partial payment must be made at the time of registration.
  • Use the partial payment plan. Pay partial (fall and spring is 25 percent) amount due plus the $25 nonrefundable partial payment fee.
  • Students who are dropped for nonpayment must re-register for classes. Re-registration will be permitted based upon course availability. Payments must be made at the time of re-registration. All students are charged a $25 nonrefundable one-time, re-registration fee.
  • Students who register for Summer classes must make a payment (33 percent) the same day as registration.
  • Students registering for Fall must make a payment the day of registration. Students who fail to make full or partial payment will be dropped from their courses. Students registering for Spring must make a payment the day of registration. Students who fail to make full or partial payment will be dropped from their courses.

Courses are dropped if you do not have the minimum tuition payment (Fall and Spring—25 percent of tuition; Summer 33 percent) except for two circumstances.

  1. If you have a complete financial aid file and show eligibility with the Financial Aid Office.
  2. Your tuition is covered by a sponsorship and your completed paperwork has been submitted to the Cashier’s Office prior to registration.

Courses less than eight weeks and non-credit classes must be paid in full.

Students will receive tuition payment due date alerts to their page, which they can access from MVConnect. The college does not mail tuition bills. The student will receive phone blasts about billing due dates. You can choose to pay tuition by:

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Discover
  • MasterCard
  • Money Order
  • Visa
  • Online with a Credit Card
  • Phone Registration and phone credit card payments (708) 974-2110

Cashier's Office Hours

Monday
8:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday
8:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Thursday
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Friday
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

During peak registration (August and January) the office is open extended hours. Summer Friday hours may vary.

Tuition Estimator

Use the form below to help you estimate your costs for the upcoming semester.

  • In-District = $128; Out-of-District = $308; Out-of-State and International = $361
  • Would be listed next to courses in the schedule
  • Your estimated cost for the semester
  • If you wish to have a copy of the total above sent to you, enter your email.
  • Here's how we arrived at your total: (Total number of credit hours you are taking) x (credit hour rate based on your residency status) + (total number of credit hours) x (college activities fee) + (total number of credit hours) x (technology fee) + (total number of credit hours) x (construction/infrastructure fee) + (student ID fee) + (any lab fees listed next to courses in the schedule) = Your charge.
D632CAM089

Register Now

Start your admission application

Konnor Parrish (Oak Lawn), shared his educational journey while on a panel for the Illinois Project Lead the Way meeting.

SCHOLARSHIPS

Search available scholarships