Moraine Valley Community College announced that Dr. Scott Friedman, dean of Student Engagement, was named the 2022 recipient of the Region IV-E Community College Professional Award, which is given by NASPA – Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education each year to honor professionals who have demonstrated leadership and commitment to student affairs in a community college.

Scott Friedman

Dr. Scott Friedman, dean of Student Engagement at Moraine Valley Community College, is the recipient of the NASPA Region IV-E Community College Professional Award.

The winner of this award must have made an individual contribution to innovative and responsive services and programs that address the varied and emerging needs of students at their community college; contributed to a campus environment that promotes student engagement, learning and personal development; and demonstrated active involvement with the profession, NASPA and community college research, policies or practice at the regional level.

Some of Friedman’s accomplishments that were recognized include his guidance in improving the college’s onboarding process and his commitment to supporting the college’s diversity initiatives.

This award has significant meaning to Friedman because of his long involvement with the organization.

“NASPA has been my primary professional association during my career,” he said. “I enjoyed my time serving on the Region IV-E Board and as a disability knowledge community representative from 2010 to 2014. I also have contributed through NASPA publications, conference presentations and as a peer reviewer.”

Friedman received the award at the NASPA regional conference recently held in Chicago.

“It is an honor to represent my colleagues serving in community and two-year colleges. The work of community college student affairs professionals is very challenging, but there is no better reward than seeing our students succeed,” Friedman said. “I am extremely humbled to receive the 2022 NASPA Region IV-E Outstanding Community College Professional Award.”


For media inquiries, contact Karen Town, communications specialist, at (708) 974-5652 or