Gina Leahy poses for a photo after being selected to the Moraine Valley Alumni Hall of FameGina Leahy, of Justice, is one of five alumni inducted into the 2016 Alumni Hall of Fame at Moraine Valley Community College.

“I was overjoyed to be named to the Alumni Hall of Fame,” Leahy said. “Moraine Valley truly was my stepping stone. Being honored by Moraine Valley, being held in high regard, it’s amazing. It truly makes me feel so accomplished.”

Leahy earned an Associate in Arts degree from Moraine Valley in 2012, a bachelor’s degree from Elmhurst College and is expected to graduate in May 2017 from the DePaul University College of Law.

In addition to serving on the Indian Springs School District 109 Board of Education, Leahy is an associate editor of the DePaul Law Review. While at Moraine Valley, she was part of the honors program, a member of Phi Theta Kappa and was active with the International Communication Partners organization.

She credits her successes to Moraine Valley. “I attribute my success to the hard work and dedication of all the professors that I encountered at Moraine Valley. I view most of them as mentors and role models. To this day, I believe that Moraine Valley was a challenging, inspiring, and culturally stimulating experience. Being part of the Honors Program allowed me to work closely with my professors. I could see how dedicated the staff members were to ensuring the student’s success and I just knew it was the right place for me.”

“We are pleased to include Gina in our Alumni Hall of Fame,” said Patricia Trebe, assistant director of annual giving and alumni relations at the Moraine Valley Foundation. “Even at a young age, Gina was an accomplished young woman. With her sights set on becoming a lawyer, Gina went about it with a determination that few people possess.  At Moraine Valley, she was an active member of several programs and organizations, and started her political career working for a state representative.  She has used that drive to succeed to another level at DePaul University and beyond.”

In addition to Leahy, the newest members are Kathleen Karwoski, of Oak Forest; Dr. Daniel Geiter, of Chicago; Nicole Selvaggio, of Oak Lawn; and Keith Karlson of Chicago.