The League for Innovation in the Community College International Student Art Awards competition, now in its 38th year, provides an opportunity for students at League board colleges to compete with their peers across North America and showcases a selection of the best works being created by today’s community college students.


Initial competitions are managed by the Local Award Coordinators at each League board college/district. Students currently enrolled in for-credit art classes at League board colleges are eligible to enter the competition. Entries must be original works of art created during enrollment at a participating board college/district. (Dual enrollment high school, early college, and noncredit students are not eligible to participate.)

  • Artworks submitted are selected by students’ local colleges/districts.
  • All types of art media are eligible, including 3D work.
  • Selected artists may submit 1 digital image for 2D work and 2 digital images for 3D work.
  • Specifications on file sizes and types for all media uploads: Image: JPEG or JPG, under 5MB with a minimum of 1200 pixels on the longest side. Audio: AIFF, WAV, XMF, MP3, under 10MB with a minimum bit rate of 96. Video: 3PG, WMV, AVI, MOV, ASF, MPG, MP4, M2T, MKV, M2TS, under 100MB with a minimum resolution of 640 x 480; minimum 12 fps.
  • Submissions to the international competition are drawn from each student’s portfolio of digital images housed on the CaFÉ online submission manager. Specific file names will not be visible to the jurors or to the International Award Coordinator. Only students’ names and artwork titles will appear in CaFÉ.
  • Check with your instructor for your local college’s entry date and selection process.
  • Complete the entry form in its entirety and sign the form.
  • The entry form requires a short (50 words or less) written statement regarding the submitted artwork. The statement may address the submitted work, or it may be a more general artist statement. All statements will be published in the Student Art Awards catalog. Proofread your statement prior to submission to your Local Award Coordinator.
  • Submit your completed and signed entry form with digital files to your college/district’s Local Award Coordinator. All images must be clear, properly exposed, and set at the required resolution.

Each participating League board college/district may submit up to five (5) works of art to the international competition. Each work of art must be created by a different student.


Best of Show: $800
Second Place: $350
Third Place: $200
Jurors Choice (3): $100

Students whose work is submitted for the international competition will receive a Certificate of Merit and have their artwork published in the League's Student Art Competition catalog, produced by the host college.

Local Award Coordinators at each board college/district will upload a scan or photograph of the complete and signed entry form for each local winner, as a PDF or Word doc, to the contest page on CaFÉ . Paper entry forms do not need to be mailed to the host college.

For more information contact the International Award Coordinator
Erik La Gattuta
Moraine Valley Community College
9000 W. College Parkway
Palos Hills, IL 60465
(708) 974-5481

Moraine Valley Community College is the host of this year’s international competition. All international-level entries must be submitted by the Local Award Coordinators at participating board colleges/districts via the CaFÉ online submission manager by April 18, 2024.


League for Innovation in the Community College Board Colleges

  • Anne Arundel Community College— Maryland
  • Austin Community College District—Austin, Texas
  • Cuyahoga Community College—Cleveland, Ohio
  • Dallas College—Dallas, Texas
  • Delta College—University Center, Michigan
  • Foothill-De Anza Community College District—Los Altos Hills, California
  • Humber College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning—Toronto, Ontario
  • Jackson College—Jackson, Michigan
  • Johnson County Community College—Overland Park, Kansas
  • Kirkwood Community College—Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • Maricopa Community Colleges—Tempe, Arizona
  • Monroe Community College—Rochester, New York
  • Moraine Valley Community College—Palos Hills, Illinois
  • Santa Fe College—Gainesville, Florida
  • Seattle Colleges—Seattle, Washington
  • Sinclair Community College—Dayton, Ohio
  • Southern Alberta Institute of Technology—Calgary, Alberta