All Academic Music performances take place in the Dorothy Menker Theater unless otherwise noted. Chorale performances are reserved seating, all other performances are general admission.

chorale

Moraine Chorale and Chamber Singers

The Moraine Chorale celebrates its 22nd season performing five themed concerts, including Broadway music, patriotic, and holiday selections with a small chamber orchestra. The Chorale is a community-based choir with more than 60 members. The Chamber Singers is an ensemble featuring Moraine Valley students.

Merry Christmas Music
Saturday, Dec. 7, 7:30 p.m.

An Evening of Irish Music and Song
Featuring: Catherine O’Connell, vocalist; Jimmy Moore, guitar; Kathleen Keane, fiddle and penny whistle
Saturday, Feb. 29, 7:30 p.m.

 

Broadway/Pop/Motion Picture Spectacular!
Saturday, May 2, 7:30 p.m.

Summer Patriotic Concert
Saturday, July 25, 2020, 7:30 p.m.

jazz

Moraine Valley Jazz Ensemble

Swinging into their 23rd season, this 20-member big band explores a range of styles from the classic swing of Duke Ellington and Count Basie to soulful blues, burning Latin jazz and gritty funk. The band also features contemporary works by such composers as Bill Holman and Bob Florence and iconic vocal arrangements such as those performed by Ella Fitzgerald and Frank Sinatra.
FREE ADMISSION

Spring Concert
Friday, May 1, 7:30 p.m.

Swingin' Summer Jazz
Friday, July 24, 2020, 7:30 p.m.

 

concert_band

Moraine Valley Concert Band

The Moraine Valley Concert Band presents their 15th anniversary season with three themed concerts including a celebration of autumn, a performance of great movie themes and a concert of favorites curated by our talented band members. The band is comprised of over 50 students and community members who play woodwind, brass and percussion instruments.

FREE ADMISSION

Harvest Festival Music
Thursday, Nov. 21, 7:30 p.m.

Let's Go to the Movies!
Sunday, March 1, 3 p.m.

Band Member Favorites
Sunday, May 3, 3 p.m.

Percussion Ensemble

Moraine Valley Percussion Ensemble

This wonderfully entertaining ensemble presents their 15th anniversary season with three dynamic, high-energy performances featuring music styles performed on marimbas, vibraphones, xylophones, drum set, timpani, bongos, congas, trash cans, cookware, cowbells and much more!
FREE ADMISSION

Percussion Holiday Spectacular
Thursday, Dec. 5, 7:30 p.m.

The Wide World of Percussion
Friday, May 8, 7:30 p.m.

Flute Ensemble

Moraine Valley Flute Choir

The Flute Choir explores flute music from a wide range of eras and styles. FREE ADMISSION.
FREE ADMISSION

Sounds That Go Bump in the Night
Friday, Oct. 11, 7 p.m.
John and Angeline Oremus Theater

Spring Concert
Friday, March 27, 7 p.m.
John and Angeline Oremus Theater

Community Orchestra

Moraine Valley Community Orchestra

Student and community musicians of the Moraine Valley Orchestra delight audiences with classical music from the Baroque era to current times.
FREE ADMISSION

Fall Concert
Sunday, Nov. 17, 3 p.m.

Spring Concert
Sunday, April 26, 3 p.m.

Jazz Ensemble

Moraine Valley Jazz Combo

Comprised of both students and community members, the jazz combo celebrates a wide range of music styles such as jazz, funk, soul and Latin while exploring the art of small group improvisation.
FREE ADMISSION

Fall Concert
Tuesday, Dec. 3, 7 p.m.
John and Angeline Oremus Theater

 

Spring Concert
Tuesday, May 5, 7 p.m.
John and Angeline Oremus Theater

 

Faculty/Staff

Free Faculty and Student Events

FREE ADMISSION

Music Student Recitals
Recital Hall (F120) and John and Angeline Oremus Theater

Monday, Dec. 9, 6:30 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 28, 6:30 p.m.
Monday, May 4, 6:30 p.m.
Monday, July 27, 6:30 p.m.