Academic Music Department
Moraine Choral

July 30, 2022

Nicholas Thomas, Director
Beverly Holt, Accompanist
Kyona Ohshika, Accompanist
Jeanne Vaughn, Narrator

Dorothy Menker Theater

Welcome! On behalf of all our musicians this evening, I would like to welcome each of you BACK to our annual Patriotic Concert here at Moraine Valley Community College for 2022. Even though we are streaming tonight’s concert, we have missed our live audience here at this festive red, white, and blue celebration of freedom!! This concert has become a tradition with our audience, and we enjoy preparing the music. Tonight’s concert features some of the best patriotic music, both old and new in some outstanding arrangements for choir and instruments. We have something for everyone and encourage you to join in singing with us on some of the familiar patriotic tunes. I also want to let everyone know that all of the musicians on stage are dedicating this evening’s concert to the people of Highland Park. We remember those who lost their lives, those who were injured, as well as everyone affected by this tragedy. God bless the people of Highland Park, Illinois.

I would like to welcome our wonderful accompanists, Beverly Holt, who plays so wonderfully and keep everyone in order, including me! Also, Jeanne Vaughn joins us once again as narrator to connect our program with her sensitive interpretations of text, and our wonderful orchestra including Kiyona Ohshika, keyboard, to complete the group and make the music come to life.

Now sit back, relax, and enjoy the show!

Nicholas Thomas, Music Director
Chair, Fine Arts and Humanities

P.S. I’d like to hear from you! Let me know what you thought of tonight’s concert by sending me an email. My email here at the college is I will share your comments with the musicians.


Welcome: Jeanne Vaughn

The Star-Spangled Banner
Words by Francis Scott Key,
Music by John Stafford Smith and arr. Mark Hayes

From Sea to Shining Sea
Words by Katherine Lee Bates, Music by Samuel Ward, Paraphrased by Maurice C. Whitney, and Arr. by Douglas E. Wagner


The Folded Flag
Words and Music by Joseph M. Martin (Dedicated to the memory Jane Berrymore, Chorale Member)

Our America (Medley
Arr. by John Higgins

Let There Be Peace on Earth
Words and Music by Sy Miller and Jill Jackson, Keith Christopher

Battle Hymn of the Republic
Arr. by Mark Hayes
(Dedicated to the memory of John Ashcroft)


I Hear America Singing
Arr. by Andre J. Thomas


Refreshments available for purchase.

Of Thee I Sing, America!
Words by Sally K. Albrecht and Jay Althouse, Music by Jay Althouse

*E Pluribus Unum
Words and Music by Joseph M. Martin

This Is My Song
Words by Lloyd Stone and Georgia Harkness, Arr. by Douglas E. Wagner


Thank You, Soldiers
Words and Music by Michael and Angela Souders

Stars and Stripes
Arr. by Berta Poorman and Sonja Poorman

Salute to the Armed Forces
Arr. by Don Wyrtzen

*denotes music purchased with “Build the Library” funds.

Moraine Chorale

Nicholas Thomas, Music Director
Beverly Holt, Accompanist
Kiyona Ohshika, Accompanist
Jeanne Vaughn, Narrator
Nikolas Arden
Virginia Ardolino
Linda Bergwall
Robert Bergwall
Carole Bogaard
Constance Bone
Deborah Brodinski
Beverly Brown
Shirley Burt
Jean Charnas
Nancy Du Charme
Anna Mae Dunbar
Len E. Fisher
Jeanette T. Flynn
Joseph Fosselman
Deborah Fuller
Marie Gancarz
Ruth Gerk
Carrie Haiduk
Mary K. Hamann
Teresa Hejmanowski
Audrey Hines
Margaret Hoenig
An Soon Hubbard
Marty Kasten
Gina Kearns
Julie Kehoe-Lordo
Glenda Klaas
Victoria Kleinow
Kathy Klenn
Dale Klinefelter
Karen Kurek
Nora Labanauskas
Tom Labanauskas
Tracey Langs
Donna Loftus
Victoria Lowczyk
Randall Madderom
Linda McClure
Kathryn Meyer
Dorothy Miller
Susanne Mosel
Mildred Nelson
David Nolan
Janis O’Boye
Donna Petersen
Robert Rheinheimer
Susan Rheinheimer
Patricia Saunders
Geoffrey Shive
Lois Shive
Yvette Smith
Roberta Stevens
Eleanor Stone
Jeanne Vaughn
Mary Waitzman
Phyllis Weinburg
Sharon Wsol

Beverly Holt, piano
Thomas Bajek, violin
Vicki Szczepaniak, violin
Julie Verchimak, Violin
Tim Daniels, percussion
Jeff Ashcraft, cello
Tammi Carlson, flute
Carlo Isabelli, trumpet
Donald Stinson, trumpet
Kiyona Ohshinka, keyboard

If you would like to sing with the Chorale for the upcoming season, please speak with Nicholas Thomas after the program this evening. Rehearsals for the fall concert begin Monday, Aug. 22, at 7 p.m. in the Dorothy Menker Theater. Registration is $25 payable Aug. 22. For more information, call Mr. Thomas at (708) 974-5755 or email him at

Mr. Thomas would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge and thank the people who have made a donation to the “Build the Choral Library Program” for the Moraine Chorale and Chamber Singers. For most of our concerts, the chorale usually sings 14-15 songs, so any donations we receive, help to cover the music costs for one of our five annual concerts! On behalf of all our performers this evening, we want to say a big THANK YOU for your support.

Fine and Performing Arts Center Staff

Technical Director

Manager of Theater Operations and Services

Assistant Technical Director


Art Gallery Coordinator

Front-of-House Staff

Technical Crew

Sean McIntosh

Julian Tillery

Amanda Hantson

MaryAnn Luciano-Smith

Cecilia Vargas

Ramsey Bauer, Karen Datro, Page Domikaitis, Tom Gerez, Robin Kmiec, Jim Novak, David Roczkowski, Lisa Rock, Sujith Saju

Jaclyn Bobbitt, Nathan Carpenter, Alex Craig, Samm Hilger, Jessica Miller, Tom Schoenbeck, Guadalupe Sosa, Quintin Turnbow

By attending this performance, you acknowledge that you have granted permission to appear in photographs, video capture and capture by other media in all public spaces in the Fine and Performing Arts Center. Your image may be used by Moraine Valley Community College for promotional purposes. This blanket permission releases and  waives any claim against the college and its employees arising from the use of such images in any medium.