The women’s basketball program has won the Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference championship nine times (2015, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2004, 1999, 1998, 1997). The Cyclones won the NJCAA Region IV championship and appeared in the NJCAA national tournament in 1989 and 1988.

Some standout players include Erin Drynan (2015-present), Michelle Borgen (2015-present), Nariman Jaber (2013-15), Sharnita Lloyd (2008-10), Nicole Wilk (2008-10), and Laura Gaylord (2006-07).

Drynan was ranked #1 in the NJCAA Division II throughout 2015 for blocked shots (192), which crushed the school record set by Jaber in 2014 (134). Drynan was #2 for total rebounds (406), averaging 13.6 per game. She had six triple-doubles and 23 double-doubles.

After the 2015 season, Borgen ranked #1 for free throws (199-286) and #7 for points (610), the latter of which smashed a school record (562). Her 21.3 points per game average broke another Cyclone record (18.7) and contributed to her 22 double-doubles. In her best game so far, she scored 40 points.

Jaber first became Moraine Valley’s all-time leader in blocked shots with a career high of 265, crushing the previous record of 181. She ranked #1 in the NJCAA Division II for most of the 2014-15 season, averaging 4.5 blocks per game.

Lloyd and Gaylord were each named to the NJCAA Division II All-American team. Lloyd and Wilk participated in the inaugural junior college Top 120 national tournament in summer of 2009. This competition recognized the best junior college basketball players in the country.