This fall has been another good one for the Cyclones. Amid the accolades and history-making moments, several individuals and squads qualified (and some already competed) for the NJCAA championship.

In a near identical performance to last season, the women’s soccer team was crowned Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference and NJCAA Region IV champions, and competed at the national tournament in Florida (Nov. 14-17). They lost both games in Pool A play, but competed at a high level. They were undefeated in conference (6-0) and were ranked No. 15 nationally. In the last two years, the Cyclones have only given up two goals in region games. Their domination yielded 21 individual player and coach awards, collectively. Sophomore Marbella Rodriguez also was named Skyway Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. She was 15th in the nation for goals (25) and 10th for shots (89).

For the first time in Cyclone history, both cross country teams reigned as conference champions. This was the third year in a row for the women’s team and the first for the men since 2004. Freshman Jordi Rangel was named Skyway Runner of the Year after a top finish (27:11) in the conference meet. Seven runners also competed at the national tournament in Kansas on Nov. 12: Hannah Funk, Yuliana Olivares, Sarah McCann, Jeremy Morgan, Mark Harris, Lou Cavalier, and Rangel.

Alec Martinez qualified for nationals in May 2017 after his first season with the golf team. He placed sixth overall in both the conference and in region. Even more impressive is that he only started playing golf two years ago.

Tennis players Alexis Kasper and Ana Karen Lagunas each qualified for the national tournament in May 2017 after topping the region at first singles and fifth singles, respectively.

“We’re so fortunate to have such tremendous talent at Moraine Valley, which was really reflected in our successes this fall. These accomplishments are truly a testament to our coaches and the history of our programs. I couldn’t be prouder,” said Bill Finn, Athletics director.