Moraine Valley Community College || Student Life || Clubs

Clubs

24 Karat Dance Team
Advisor: Jehan Chapple, Library, chapplej@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: Tuesday (G200) and Thursday (F150), 3:30-6 p.m.
Dance group that promotes spirit to Moraine Valley campus. Performs at a variety of events and encourages participation on campus.

Action Social and Political Empowerment
Advisors: Annette D'Silva, A228 (708) 608-4023 DSilvaA@morainevalley.edu
Anna Siwiec-Sitkowska, Siwiec-SitkowskaA@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Oct. 28, Nov.11, Dec. 2 at 1:30 p.m., L Building- First floor by Expresso Love
Fosters the feeling of empowerment through discussion and involvement in social issues.

Alliance of African American Students
Advisor: Stella Okeke, S201K, (708) 974-5487 okekes@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: Tuesday, Noon, S117
Provides increased awareness of African American culture to ourselves and to campus, while seeking to inform and motivate students to get involved and prepare for their future.

Alliance of Latin American Students (A.L.A.S.)
Advisor: Stella Okeke, S201K, (708) 974-5487 okekes@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: Thursday, 1:30 p.m., S117
Provides opportunities for students to gain cultural knowledge, improve communication and share unique cultural experiences.

Arab Student Union
Advisor: Nina Shoman-Dajani, B260, (708)974-5229, shoman-dajanim@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: Tuesday, 12 p.m., U209
Increases awareness about the Arab culture to college community.

Art Club
Advisor: Kevin Daly, dalyk@morainevalley.edu
Amy Lubke, lubkea@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: Monday, 5 p.m., F252
Brings art and fine craft to the Moraine Valley campus, operates the student art gallery and fosters appreciation of the arts through art-related activities.

Asian Diversity Club
Advisor: Tamima Farooqui- S202, (708) 974-5313, farooquit@morainevalley.edu 
Wenney Tse- L144, (708) 974-5313, Tse@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Thursdays, 3 p.m. in S117B
Creates a welcoming environment for the students, also to represent and build awareness across community and college about the diverse Asian culture.
https://www.facebook.com/AsianDiversityClub, asiandiversityclub@gmail.com

Business, Finance and Entrepreneur Club
Advisor: James Snooks, D109 (708) 974-5785 snooks@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: 2nd and 4th Wednesday of each month, 3-4:30 p.m., U209
To promote discussion of business related topics outside of the classroom while also contributing to the Moraine Valley community.

Fashion Valley Couture
Advisor: Dominique McDowell, S202, (708) 608-5722 mcdowelld22@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: Wednesdays, 1-4 p.m., G200
To promote and influence self-acceptance and self-confidence within the Moraine Valley community, while unleashing a sense of style.

Film Maker’s Club
Advisor: Dan Pal, F228, (630)336-5471, Pal@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: Wednesdays, 4:15 p.m., F229
An opportunity to give students a chance to learn more about film making.

G.A.S.P. - Gender And Sexuality Progress
Advisor: Jeffrey McCully, A157, (708) 608-4377 mccullyj@morainevalley.edu 
Matthew Cullen, S202, (708) 608-4101 cullenm27@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Thursday, 2:30 p.m., U209
Educates about gender and sexual minorities, promotes and provides safe space for campus community and challenges Moraine Valley to adopt attitudes and policies of tolerance and acceptance towards all individuals.

Go Green! Club
Advisor: Stephenie Presseller, L242, (708) 974-5412, pressellers@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Every other Tuesday, 2:30-3:30 p.m., U211
Students organize around green and sustainability related topics, issues or actions to help Moraine Valley and its community be a great, green place to be. Students educate others on the interdependent relationship between healthy people and a healthy planet. They work on projects that encourage both people and the planet to be healthy, too. Students will also have opportunities to attend professional development activities, learn about environmental and sustainability careers, have fun gardening, and so much more.

Honors Program Club
Advisor: Alicea Toso, U208, (708) 974-4191 tosoa@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Nov. 12- 3:30-4:30 p.m. (S117B)
Offers educational/leadership oriented workshops to Honors Program Students.

Indian/Pakistan Student Union
Advisor: Stella Okeke, S201K, (708) 974-5487 okekes@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: Monday, Noon, U209
To represent South Asian countries at Moraine Valley while also educating student, faculty and staff about the culture and heritage of the diverse countries.

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship
Advisor: Daniel Cristman, S201, (708) 974-4284 cristmand@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: Friday, 10 a.m., U211
Establishes and advances witnessing communities of students who follow Jesus as savior and Lord.

International Women’s Club (I.W.C.)
Advisor: Annette D'Silva, A228, (708) 608-4023 DSilvaA@morainevalley.edu 
Anna Siwiec-Sitkowska, Siwiec-SitkowskaA@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Oct. 28, Nov.11, Dec. 2 at 1:30 p.m., L Building- First floor by Expresso Love
Promotes a multicultural understanding of women.

K Fu Martial Arts
Advisor: Courtney Reese, L287, (708) 608-4067 ReeseC7@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Wednesday at 3 p.m., U111 and Fridays at 1 p.m., G200
Offers an opportunity for students to learn this ancient style of self-defense while improving muscular and cardiovascular fitness.

Legacy X Dance Team
Advisor: Demetrius Robinson, U202, (708) 974-5353, robinsond63@morainvalley.edu
Club Meeting: Tuesday (G200) and Thursday (F180), 3:30-6 p.m.
The vision and purpose for this dance team is to educate, entertain, encourage, and express the art of dance within the Moraine Valley community.

Mathletics
Advisor: Keith Nabb, C242, (708) 974-5592 nabb@morainevalley.edu
Club Meeting: Thursday (except 2nd of the month), D122, 3:30 p.m.
Increase student engagement in math related competitions and general mathematics.

Model Illinois Government
Advisor: Krista Appelquist, A266, (708) 974-5222 appelquist@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Friday, 2 p.m., A266 (Oct.-March)
To simulate debating congressional bills in Springfield, IL. Spring semester.

Music Club
Advisor: Tammi Carlson, F118, (708) 974-5636, carlsont@morainvalley.edu 
Kiyona Ohshika, F130, oshikak2@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Wednesday, 2 p.m., F127
Promotes the knowledge of different musical styles and spreads the love of music among our diverse community.

Psychology Club
Advisor: Nickolas Shizas, A114, (708) 974-4121, shizasn2@morainevalley.edu 
Mitchell Baker, A114, (708)974-4058, BakerM73@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: 2nd and 4th Wednesday of every month, 11 a.m., A152
Provides the opportunity to explore various fields within Psychology as well as to give students leadership[ opportunities to become successful.

Recreation Therapy /Recreation and Sport Management
Advisor: Donna McCauley, A220, (708) 974-5227, McCauley@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: 1st and 3rd Wednesday of every month, 9 a.m., H177A
To represent all groups of all abilities through rewarding activities. To combine all people in the interest, attitude and actions of recreation through healing ,assisting and management.

Rotaract Club of Moraine Valley
Advisor: Sue Linn, (708) 974-5335, linns@morainevalley.edu 
To provide an opportunity for young woman and men to enhance their knowledge and skills that will assist them in personal development and promoting relations between people worldwide through a framework of friendship and service, as well as helping with physical and social needs for the community.

Rugby Club
Advisor: Student Life Office
Club Meeting: Wed. 5-7  p.m. on the quad outside building U
Mon. and Fri. TBD
Provides an opportunity to have a great time while meeting/networking with other people who play and love the game.

Relay for Life Planning Committee
Advisor: Alicea Toso, U208, (708) 974-4191 tosoa@morainevalley.edu 
Unites students to celebrate those who have fought cancer and remember those we have lost and fight back to create a world with less cancer and more birthdays.

Student Nursing Organization (S.N.O.)
Advisor: Georgina Murphy, L183
Club Meeting: 1st and 3rd Wednesday of every month, None, B119
Pre-professional organization for nursing students that are committed to leadership, facilitating interaction between students, integrity and health promotion in the community.

Ultimate Frisbee
Advisor: Jessica Crotty, D106, (708) 974-5281, crotty@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Fridays, Noon, on the quad
Provides an opportunity to have a great time while meeting/networking with other people who play and love the game.

Women in Action
Advisor: Ewa Fredette, C240, (708) 974-5322 fredette@morainevalley.edu 
Maura Vizza, D114, (708)974-5742 vizzam@morainevalley.edu 
Club Meeting: Wednesday, 2 p.m., U211
Provides members growth in leadership positions through hands on experience in community service, outreach planning, mentoring, and guest speakers.