Moraine Valley Community College || Student Life || Clubs

Clubs

24 Karat Dance Team
Advisors: Terra Jacobson, L211A, (708) 974-5467 jacobsont6@morainevalley.edu
Misha Turner L244 (708) 974-5207 TurnerM@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Tues./Thurs. 3:30-6 p.m. in F150 and U111
Dance group that promotes spirit to Moraine Valley campus. Performs at a variety of events and encourages participation on campus.

Alliance of Latin American Students (A.L.A.S.)
Advisor: Rebecca Ramirez, (708) 608-4120, S114 ramirezr89@morainevalley.edu
Provides opportunities for students to gain cultural knowledge, improve communication and share unique cultural experiences.
Meetings: Wed. Noon-1 p.m. in U209

Anime
Advisor: Jeremy Kingery, S201, (708) 608-4175 KingeryJ4@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Thurs. 4-5 p.m. in U211
Learning, interpretation and sharing of culture related to Japanese animated cartoons.

Arab Student Union (A.S.U.)
Advisor: Nina Shoman-Dijani, B260, (708) 974-5229 shoman-dajanim@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Thurs., 2 p.m., A242
Increases awareness about the Arab culture to college community.

Art
Advisor: Kevin Daly, dalyk@morainevalley.edu
Amy Lubke, lubkea@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Mon. 4:30 p.m. in F252
Brings art and fine craft to the Moraine Valley campus, operates the student art gallery and fosters appreciation of the arts through art-related activities

Asian Diversity
Advisor: Tamima Farooqui, S202, (708) 974-5313 farooquit@morainevalley.edu
Wenney Tse, S202 (708) 974-5313 Tse@morainevalley.edu
Jason King, L141, (708) 974-5797
Creates a welcoming environment for the students, also to represent and build awareness across community and college about the diverse Asian culture.
Meetings: Thurs., 3 p.m., S117B
 https://www.facebook.com/AsianDiversityClub  asiandiversityclub@gmail.com

Association of African American Students
Advisor: Misty Williams S219 (708) 606-4141 WilliamsM332@morainevalley.edu
Mattie Payne Mallory, S219  (708) 974-5657 payne-mallorym@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Tues. Noon in U209

Business, Finance, & Entrepreneur Club
James Snooks, D109 (708) 974-5785 Snooks@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: 3-4:30 p.m., in U209, 1/22, 2/12, 2/26, 3/26, 4/9, 4/23, 5/7,

Christian Fellowship
Advisor: Michael Shannon, A220, (708) 608-4047
Daniel Cristman, S201, (708) 608-4284
Meetings: Alternating Tues. 11 a.m.-1 p.m. and Wed. 11 a.m.-1 p.m. in U211 starting 1/21
Establishes and advances witnessing communities of students who follow Jesus as savior and Lord.

Creative Writing
Advisor: Tina Jenkins-Bell, A214, (708) 608-4379 jenkinsbellm@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Mon. 2 p.m. in A251
Provides opportunity for students to practice creative writing techniques.

Fashion Valley Couture
Advisor: Dominique McDowell, S202,  (708) 608-5722 mcdowelld22@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Thurs. 2-3 p.m. in U111 fashionvalleycouture@gmail.com

Film Makers Club
Advisor: Dan Pal, F228, Pal@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Wed. 3 p.m. in M201 https://www.facebook.com/mvfilmmakers  mvfilmmakers@hotmail.com

Gender and Sexuality Progress (G.A.S.P.)
Advisors: Jeffrey McCully, A157, (708) 608-4377 mccullyj@morainevalley.edu
Matthew Cullen, S202, (708) 608-4101 cullenm27@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Tues. 2:30-4 p.m. in U209 https://www.facebook.com/mvcc.gasp
Educates about gender and sexual minorities, promotes and provides safe space for campus community and challenges Moraine Valley to adopt attitudes and policies of tolerance and acceptance towards all individuals.

SHARP-Honors Club
Advisors: Alicea Toso, U208, (708) 608-4191 tosoa@morainevalley.edu
Jeremy Shermak, A250, (708) 608-4212 ShermakJ@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Mon. 2:30 p.m. in U208

Independent Demo Makers
Advisors: Merri Fefles, D115, (708) 974-5393 fefles@morainevalley.edu 

International Women’s Club (I.W.C.)
Advisor: Annette D'Silva, A228, (708) 608-4023 DSilvaA@morainevalley.edu
Anna Siwiec-Srtkowska, Siwiec-SitkowskaA@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Tues., 1:30 p.m., 1/21, 2/4, 2/18, 3/4, 3/18, 4/1, 4/15, 4/29 by Espresso Love Coffee Shop in L building
Promotes a multicultural understanding of women.

K-Fu Martial Arts
Advisor: Courtney Reese, L287, (708) 608-4067 ReeseC7@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Wed. 4-6 p.m. in U211, Fri. 1:30-3:30 p.m. in U111
Offers an opportunity for students to learn this ancient style of self-defense while improving muscular and cardiovascular fitness.

Korean Student Association (K.S.A.)
Advisor: Young Shim, A157, (708) 608-4319 shimy@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: First and third Thurs. 3 p.m. in A152
Educates college community about Korean culture, organizing interdisciplinary events and seminars and socialization activities.

Legacy X Dance Team
Advisor:  Demetrius Robinson, U202, (708) 974-5353 robinsond63@morainvalley.edu
Meetings: Tues. in U111 and Thurs. in U209, 5-7 p.m.

Music
Advisor: Tammi Carlson, F118, (708) 974-5636 carlsont@morainvalley.edu
Kiyona Oshika, oshikak2@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Wed. 2-3 p.m. in F127
Promotes the knowledge of different musical styles and spreads the love of music among our diverse community.

Muslim Student Association
Advisor: Michael Morches, B260, (708) 974-5310 morschesm@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Mon./Thurs. 12:30-1:30 p.m. in U209
Serves both the Muslim and Moraine Valley Community in learning and sharing the culture.

Pi Kappa Delta
Advisors: John Nash, A266 (708) 974-5556 Nash@morainevalley.edu
Krista Appelquist, (708) 974-5222 Appelquist@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Mon. Noon-12:45 p.m. in A266

Psychology Club
Advisor: Mitchell Baker, A114, x4058 BakerM73@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: First and third Wed., 11 a.m.-Noon, A121
Provides the opportunity to explore various fields within Psychology as well as to give students leadership[ opportunities to become successful.

Recreation Management/Recreation Therapy (R.U.N.)
Advisor: Donna McCauley, A220, (708) 974-0185 McCauley@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Thurs. 11 a.m. in B156
To represent all groups of all abilities through rewarding activities. To combine all people in the interest, attitude and actions of recreation through healing ,assisting and management.

Relay for Life Planning Committee
Advisor: Wally Fronczek, B232, (708) 974-5372 Fronczek@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: 4-5 p.m. in A262,1/13, 1/27, 2/3, 2/24, 3/3, 3/10, 3/17, 3/24, 3/31, 4/7, 4/14, 4/21
Unites students to celebrate those who have fought cancer & remember those we have lost and fight back to create a world with less cancer and more birthdays.

Social Action & Political Empowerment
Advisors: Annette D'Silva, A228 (708) 608-4023 DSilvaA@morainevalley.edu
Anna Siwiec-Srtkowska, Siwiec-SitkowskaA@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Tues., 2 p.m., 1/21, 2/4, 2/18, 3/4, 3/18, 4/1, 4/15, 4/29 by Espresso Love Coffee Shop in L building
Fosters the feeling of empowerment through discussion and involvement in social issues.

Student Nursing Organization (S.N.O.)
Advisor: Georgina Murphy, L183, (708) 608-4122
Meetings: Wed. in B119
Pre-professional organization for nursing students that are committed to leadership, facilitating interaction between students, integrity and health promotion in the community.

The Society of Arab Scholars
Advisor: Kipp Cozad, B260, (708) 974-5331 cozadk2@morainevalley.edu

Ultimate Frisbee Club
Advisor: Jessica Crotty, D106, (708) 974-5281 crotty@morainevalley.edu
Meetings: Mon. 3 p.m. at the Gateway
Provides an opportunity to have a great time while meeting/networking with other people who play and love the game.