Home | Class Schedule | Library | Campus Visit | Employment | Contact Us | Search  

Center for Teaching and Learning

About Us | Academics | Admissions/Registration | Resources | Student Activities | What's Happening

Center for Teaching and Learning


About the CTL


Faculty Resources

Staff Resources

 Crawley Leadership

Technology Resources

Instructional Design

Instructional Technology

Non-traditional Learning

Additional Resources







Adjunct Professor of the Year

Current Adjunct Professor of the Year
Nature of the Award
Nomination Process
Former Adjunct Professors of the Year


2013 Adjunct Professor of the Year
Dawn Wrobel

Nature of the Award
The Adjunct Professor of the Year Award was established in 1990 to recognize outstanding adjunct faculty.

The recipient of the Adjunct Professor of the Year Award: 

  1. receives a $500 stipend from the college, 

  2. is presented with a framed certificate and formally recognized at the annual college Staff Recognition Dinner (held in late spring), and 

  3. is featured in Applause!Applause! (a publication of Moraine Valley that recognizes employees receiving college awards).

Nomination Process 
All adjunct faculty (teaching and nonteaching, credit and noncredit) who have taught 12 hours or have been employed two semesters at Moraine Valley Community College are eligible for this award.

Nomination Process 
Generally, the nomination process begins in the fall semester and ends in February of the following spring term. 

  • Any administrator, department chair, faculty member, and/or student may nominate a candidate for the award. 

  • Employee and student nomination forms are made available collegewide; and may be obtained from the Center for Teaching and Learning.

  • Candidates nominated are screened (according to criteria) by members of the Adjunct Faculty Development Committee, who select a finalist. 

Former Adjunct Professors of the Year 
1990: George "Deeks" Carroll, Sue Eade and Jane Hunt
1991: William Droel, Li-Mei Ku and Susan Phelan
1992: Natalie Murawski
1993: Pat Badten
1994: William J. Sullivan
1995: Ken Spajer
1996: Brenda Ammeraal
1997: Nancy Lennon
1998: Bernard O'Reilly
1999: Theresa B. Lorenzini
2000: Imelda Kaminski
2001: Carolyn Wassberg Manley
2002: Enza Piech and Colette Schrank
2003: Jill Mack
2004: Rob Belin
2005: Robert Trach
2006: Dr. Peter Porter
2007: Jim Munz
Dr. Annie Picard
2009: Mary Therese Galka
2010: Angela Spyropoulos
2011: Donna Guerin
2012: Abbas Jaffary