Moraine Valley Community College || Fine Arts and Humanities || Humanities

Humanities

Humanities courses present the history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and visual arts of a society and help contribute to your personal enrichment, no matter what your major. The courses offered through Moraine Valley's Humanities Department help provide you with a well-rounded education and emphasize the broad-minded perspective necessary for success in any career.

Classes in Western humanities introduce you to the cultural aspects which helped shape modern Western society. Explore the artistic and intellectual expression of Africa, the Americas, Asia, the Middle East and Oceania to broaden your understanding of the world's diverse cultures. You can even explore women's contributions to the humanities or mythologies from around the globe.

If you intend to obtain a bachelor's degree in a humanities-related field such as philosophy, English, law or religion, contact an academic advisor to discuss your options.

For more information on Moraine Valley's humanities courses, contact Nick Thomas, department chair of Fine Arts and Humanities, at (708) 974-5755 or thomasn@morainevalley.edu.

Courses Offered

HUM-101—Western Humanities I: Foundations
HUM-102—Western Humanities II: Continuities
HUM-115—World Mythology
HUM-120—Women in the Humanities
HUM 135 – African and Middle Eastern Humanities
HUM 140- Asian and Oceanic Humanities
HUM 145 – Native American Humanities

Faculty

Tammi Carlson, M.A.
Associate Professor, Humanities/Music
Office Location: F242
Telephone: (708) 974-5636
carlsont@morainevalley.edu

Randolph Conner, Ph.D.
Instructor, Humanities
Office Location: F232
Telephone: (708) 974-5389
connerr4@morainevalley.edu

Sean William Doyle, M.A.
Professor, Humanities/Philosophy
Office Location: F232
Telephone: (708) 974-5561
doyle@morainevalley.edu

Kelly Speaker Hruby, M.A.
Instructor, Humanities
Office Location: F208
Telephone: (708) 608-4109
hrubyk2@morainevalley.edu

Vickie Neubeck O'Connor, M.A.
Assistant Professor, Humanities
Office Location: F250
Telephone: (708) 974-5218
neubeck@morainevalley.edu